To write a feature

This week I had the disconcerting experience of reporting and writing a feature story in three days in an unknown environment. I’ve written on deadline before, sure, and reported some complicated things in short amounts of time, but the assignment to meet someone new, find a newsworthy angle to them and make it into a 600-1200 word feature article with Web links and blog entry in less than 72 hours felt like a trial by fire. I’m sure that’s what the teacher had in mind, too. In any case, I’m finished now, with the dubious satisfaction of having done it. In the process I learned that it really is possible to find interesting stories just about anywhere; in this case, I found my story in a tiny office a block from the Empire State Building, sandwiched between a cafe and a tourist shop.

Leave a Reply

